UN elects new council members including Japan, Switzerland

The United Nations (UN) member nations have elected five countries to join the powerful UN Security Council on Thursday with no suspense or drama because all were unopposed — Ecuador, Japan, Malta, Mozambique and Switzerland. Winning a seat on the 15-member Security Council is considered a pinnacle of achievement for many countries because it gives […]Read More